About the gardens > The history of the Gardens
APH–ESAT Le Pommeret - Sustainable development - Awards and trophys - Our partners

The history of the Gardens

Broceliande Gardens were created in 1993. At the time, little did we think that we would become the 8th most visited tourist site in Ille-et-Vilaine,, one of the first parks to obtain the Tourism and Disability Label, and even be the subject of the television programme "Silence ça pousse" in 2010.

At that time, Gérard Brière, founding director of the Centre d'Aide par le Travail Le Pommeret, was looking for an idea to enhance the work prospects of disabled people. Passionate about botany, he imagined the creation of an "agripark" where the wealth of both human and botanical interest could be experienced through a collection of apple trees and the creation of landscaped gardens.

With the help of an architect, Jean Sébastien Boutruche, and the Rheu Agricultural College, André Ravenel and a team of disabled people constructed a road network, lakes and different zones, installed the different collections and plantations, carried out landscaping improvements with extra help from several other CATs.


  • In 1995, whilst the Park was still under construction, the French Society of Iris' and Bulbs (Franciris) entrusted a duplicate of the Marc Simonet collection to the Gardens, half of today’s collection
  • In 1997 the Mesnils Farm and adjoining land, which forms the reception today, was purchased. The Gardens opened to the public.
  • In 2002 Franciris was organised at the Gardens providing further recognition of the work carried out by André Ravenel, Virginie Fur (in charge of collections) and the team of disabled workers.


Since then, year after year, our plant collections have been enriched by the addition of specimens from professionals, amateurs, other parks and French professional plant breeders to result in the collections that we know today. Little by little the different zones have taken shape (Asiatic garden, royal jewel box, meadows).

15 years after their inception, Broceliande Gardens has reached a botanical maturity revealing its' multiple facets and the creation of a floral park "ex nihilo".


To balance the budget and also to sustain its training role and the employment of people with disability, Broceliande Gardens is increasing its actions by integrating a new recreational and educational concept: " what if we, the able, were disabled in our 5 senses". The sensory pathways "Wake up your feet and Awaken your senses" were born in 2008 and 2010, and completed by the introduction of games areas unique in France

A site for environmental education, biodiversity, relaxation and exploration of the 5 senses, Broceliande Gardens is first and foremost a wonderful training and awareness-raising facility for people with disability. Alongside this primary goal, we also seek to provide a truly satisfying experience for our visitors.

Participate !

Sign our guestbook !!



Read visitors' comments in our guestbook. Leave your own comment.



Leave a comment

A propos des jardins > Histoire des Jardins
APH–ESAT Le Pommeret - Tourisme durable - Les labels - Nos partenaires

L'Histoire des Jardins

Les Jardins de Brocéliande ont été créés en 1993. A l’époque, nous étions loin de pouvoir imaginer qu’ils deviendraient le 8ième équipement touristique d’Ille-et-Vilaine en termes de fréquentation, un des premiers parcs à obtenir le label Tourisme et Handicap, ou encore d’être sujet de l’émission de télévision « Silence ça pousse » en 2010.

En effet, à cette époque, Gérard Brière, directeur fondateur du Centre d’Aide par le Travail Le Pommeret recherchait une idée pour mettre en valeur le travail des personnes handicapées. Passionné de botanique, il imagine alors la création d’un « agroparc » où pourraient être mis en valeur richesse humaine et botanique, à travers une collection de pommiers d’une part et la création d’espaces paysagers d’autre part.

Aidés par un architecte, Jean Sébastien Boutruche et le Lycée Agricole du Rheu, André Ravenel et une équipe de personnes en situation de handicap implantent les voiries, réseaux, étangs et différentes zones, installent les différentes collections et plantations, réalisent les différents aménagements paysagers, avec le renfort d’équipes de plusieurs CAT.


  • En 1995 les Jardins de Brocéliande encore en chantier, se voient confier par la Société Française des Iris et Bulbeuses, le duplicata de la collection de Marc Simonet, la moitié de la collection actuelle.
  • En 1997 est achetée la ferme des Mesnils et les terrains attenants qui forment l’accueil actuel. C'est l'année de l'ouverture au public.
  • En 2002, Franciris est organisé aux Jardins de Brocéliande, conférant une reconnaissance supplémentaire à l’ensemble du travail réalisé par André Ravenel, Virginie Fur, responsable des collections et toute l’équipe de personnes en situation de handicap.


Depuis, année après année, les différentes collections sont enrichies par la collecte auprès des professionnels, d’amateurs, des autres parcs, des obtenteurs français professionnels pour aboutir aux collections que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Les différentes zones ont pris forme (enclos de la vie, jardin asiatique, écrin royal, clos des friches…) peu à peu.

15 années après leur création, les Jardins de Brocéliande arrivent à maturité botanique révélant ses multiples facettes et l’exploit d’une création ex nihilo d’un parc floral.


Pour parvenir à un équilibre économique et ainsi pérenniser la plateforme d’apprentissage et les emplois des personnes en situation de handicap, les Jardins de Brocéliande élargissent leur action en intégrant de nouveaux concepts ludiques et pédagogiques: «et si nous étions, nous, les valides, handicapés de nos 5 sens». Ainsi apparaissent les parcours «réveille tes pieds et active tes sens» en 2008 et 2010, complétés par des aires de jeux quasi inédits en France.

Lieu d’éducation à l’environnement, à la biodiversité, à la détente, à nos 5 sens, les Jardins de Brocéliande sont encore et surtout une formidable plateforme d’apprentissage et d’épanouissement pour les personnes en situation de handicap. Au-delà de notre souci de toujours vous satisfaire, vous visiteurs d’un jour, telle est notre ambition première et permanente.

Rejoignez-nous


Pour nous appeler :
02 99 60 08 04